SIMNET Weblog

March 20, 2009

LETSI Project – Web Services API for SCORM Run-Time Communication

Filed under: CCK08 — Tags: , — Frank Polster @ 8:57 pm

If you have about an hour on Wed 25 March, “brown bag” it that day and join us for the kick off of LETSI’s first open source software project – Web Services API for SCORM Runtime Communication.

The genesis for the project is a white paper that was submitted by Virginia Travers, as part of the SCORM 2.0 submissions last summer, titled “SCORM RTE Web Services Interface”
Mike Rustic blogged about the project in “Learning to Swim” 23 Feb 09 and had a link to the project document titled “LETSI Project Proposal – Web Services API for SCORM Run-Time Communication”
Bruce Roberts and Chris Guin from BBN will kick off the session to provide some background on the project along with some issues and challenges in taking the current code to the next level. Tyde Richards an Schawn Thropp are also scheduled to join in on the discussions. Chris’s brief as well as other project documents are posted on the LETSI wiki.
As most of you know LETSI is taking a much different approach with its community source approach and an agile software development process, while at the same time maintaining and active liaison with Standards Committee. This project has an active liaison with the IEEE LTSC group and I expect Schawn Thropp will make a few comments on what the IEEE is planning.
As a pilot project, the substance and process are of equal importance. We are making things up as we go along. Your technical contributions and involvement in building an open source software development environment are needed. One of the LETSI founders has contributed some infrastructure assets and for this project we will use Source Forge to manage the project and code.
Project Documents – see:
http://wiki.letsi.org/display/Arch/LETSI+Software+Development+Pilot+Project

Date: March 25
Time:
*  16:00 UTC
*   9:00am U.S. Pacific
*   noon U.S. Eastern
*  4:00pm UK
*  5:00pm France/Germany

Duration: 1 hour

Skype phone: +9900827049304412

Conventional phone: local number + access code 9304412

US 201-793-9022
Austria 0820 401 15470
Belgium 0703 57 134
France 0826 109 071
Germany 0180 500 9527
Ireland 818 27 968
Italy 848 390 177
Spain 902 881 270
Switzerland 0848 560 397
United Kingdom 0870 0990 931

Adobe Connect session:
http://pcpbu.na4.acrobat.com/letsi
Log in as a guest

Thanks Frank

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.